From now on it is possible for every member to decide if you want your name to be included in public data (whazzup). By default all members do not share their name, so if you do want to make it visible, you will have to explicitly enable it in your profile.
What does this mean?
By default, only your VID will be published, and your name will NOT be visible in any tool using the data service.
If you give permission to include your name in the data, then it will be visible in external tools again, just like before.
How to include/exclude my name?
There is a new setting on your profile page where you can indicate if you want your name to be included or not.
Open your profile page (My details from the mainpage) and use "Change my details".
On the profile page, there is now an option to allow your name to be published in the public network information
The options are:
- Yes Your real name will be published in the data feed
- No Your VID will be published in the data feed
It takes up to 30 minutes before your updated preferences are reflected in the data feed.